• NC Standard Course of Study

    North Carolina Standard Course of Study  

    Promotion Standards

    To be promoted to the next grade, middle school students demonstrate proficiency by scoring a Level III or above on EOGs in reading and math. Local standards state that students must also pass English/Language Arts and Mathematics. In addition to English/Language Arts and Mathematics, the student must also pass two (2) of these three subjects—Science, Social Studies, and Health/Physical Education.

    Union County Public Schools has adopted a new retention policy. In order to be considered for promotion from grade six to grade seven, grade seven to grade eight, or grade eight to grade nine, a student must pass language arts, math, and at least two of the following courses for the school year: science, social studies, and health/physical education. Other factors may be considered in determining whether a student is promoted or retained; however, the primary consideration is contained in the guidelines stated above. 

    View link to policy here: 

    Grading Scale:

    A: 90-100
    B: 80-89
    C: 70-79
    D: 60-69