Sandy Ridge School Improvement Team

  • Sandy Ridge Elementary School Improvement Team


    The North Carolina State Board of Education requires each public school to create and implement a “School Improvement Plan” as part of a state-wide accountability model. This plan holds schools accountable for educational growth of students and focuses on improving student performance in the areas of reading, math, and communication skills. Specifically, it outlines our priority goals along with supporting strategies and action steps to achieve these goals. The School Improvement Plan is annually updated and submitted for approval by the Union County Board of Education.


    The School Improvement Team at Sandy Ridge Elementary is responsible for the development of the School Improvement Plan. This team is comprised of staff representatives from each grade level and department, parent representatives elected by parents through the PTA, and administration. The members of the School Improvement Team meet monthly to discuss and implement plans and processes that align with the goals outlined in the School Improvement Plan.


    School Improvement Team meeting minutes are posted to the Sandy Ridge website on the days following the meeting. All stakeholders have access to this information and are able to share feedback with School Improvement Team representatives or administration anytime via links on the Sandy Ridge website. Topics are added to the agenda if they relate to the goals outlined in the School Improvement Plan.


    The Sandy Ridge School Improvement Team strives to make decisions that foster a culture of diversity and inclusion and that align with our Leader in Me school-wide transformation model as well as our Sandy Ridge vision and mission.


    SRES Vision and Mission: 

    Leading our community

    Encouraging our partnerships

    Achieving our goals

    Discovering our voice


    School Improvement Team Members   2018-19                              

    • Emily Kraftson- Principal

    • Tricia Yetter - Assistant Principal

    • Amy Smith- Teacher Representative, EC

    • Michelle Plaien - Kindergarten

    • Laura DeBarr - 1st grade

    • Lauren Caddell- 2nd grade

    • Nancy Chorney - 3rd grade

    • Karen Harris - 4th grade

    • Jackie Humphries - 5th grade

    • Lori Gowdy - AIG

    • Denise Kisko - Assistants

    • Donna Ko - Special Area


    • Kindergarten: Kay Cole

    •  1st Grade: Chudney Drew

    •  2nd Grade: Jean So

    •  3rd Grade: Erin Gorrie

    •  4th Grade: Ancel Crisol

    •  5th Grade:  Lisa Rankin




  • There are no upcoming events to display.

View Calendar