Return to Headlines

Application period for School Choice opens April 6

School Choice

Union County Public Schools has announced its schools of choice for the 2021-2022 school year. Families may apply for School Choice April 6 – 30 via Scribbles.

School Choice is explained under Policy 4-13 Student Assignment. Through this option, families may apply for admission through lottery to any elementary, middle or high school within the district whose student population is less than 90% of the capacity as determined by the district.

The Superintendent shall designate which schools are available for enrollment under this provision on an annual basis. The Superintendent and Board of Education have the final authority to identify schools available for choice under this option. Once a transfer has been granted under this basis, it will remain in effect until the terminal grade in that school location (i.e. 5th, 8th and 12th).

Transportation is not provided for students who accept a transfer through School Choice. 

The schools below have been designated as schools of choice for the 2021-2022 school year.  

Elementary Schools

Benton Heights Elementary School of the Arts

Fairview Elementary

Hemby Bridge Elementary

Marshville Elementary

Porter Ridge Elementary

Rocky River Elementary

Walter Bickett Elementary

Waxhaw Elementary

Western Union Elementary 


Middle Schools

East Union Middle 

Parkwood Middle


High Schools

Forest Hills High

Monroe High 

Parkwood High

Piedmont High