Return to Headlines

UCPS students join local NAACP youth chapter

Last month, several Union County Public Schools (UCPS) students were inducted as council officers into the Union County NAACP Youth Council during an installation ceremony.NAACP LOGO

The council is made up of students from each cluster and the roles include officers, cluster chairpersons and members. The council will focus on equity, health and wellness, education, juvenile justice, financial literacy and voting rights.  

Jermaine Hudson, a senior at Sun Valley High School and council member says he heard about the youth council through his school counselor.

“My generation is very big on social activism, you can see it anywhere on social media,” said Jermaine. “To have this program for us is pretty cool.”

The youth council holds monthly meetings and is planning community outreach events in the coming months.


Youth Executive Committee 2021-2022:

Viviana Fernandez, President

Porter Ridge High

Avery Poherence, Vice-President

Cuthbertson Middle

De’ran Coleman, Treasurer

Sun Valley Middle

Beyonce Atherly, Assist. Treasurer

Marvin Middle

Taylar Burke, Secretary

Sun Valley High

Ashten Hansley, Assist. Secretary

Parkwood High


Cluster Chairpersons:

Danielle Matamba

Cuthbertson High

Trinity LeGrand

Forest Hills High

Lauren Fleming

Marvin Ridge High

Courtney Liles

Parkwood High

Natorian Greene

Piedmont Middle

Jacob Anderson

Porter Ridge High

Nirelle Ksena Sitchoa

Sun Valley High

Jennifer Castro-Hernandez

CATA/Union County Early College

Michael Wilson II

Monroe High

Alexa McMillian

Weddington Middle


For more information on the Union County NAACP Youth Council, click here


Published April 23, 2021