Return to Headlines

UCPS families may apply for School Choice Dec. 11 – Feb. 11

Union County Public Schools has announced its schools of choice for the 2024-2025 school year. School Choice is explained under Policy 4-13 Student Assignment. Through this option, families may apply for admission through lottery to any elementary, middle or high school within the district whose student population is no more than 85% of the capacity, as determined by the district. Families may apply for School Choice Dec. 11, 2023  – Feb. 11, 2024 via Scribbles

The Superintendent shall designate which schools are available for enrollment under this provision on an annual basis. The Superintendent and Board of Education have the final authority to identify schools available for choice under this option. Once a transfer has been granted under this basis, it will remain in effect until the terminal grade in that school location (i.e. 5th, 8th and 12th).  

Transportation is not provided for students who accept a transfer through School Choice.

The schools below have been designated as schools of choice for the 2024-2025 school year.  

Elementary Schools

Fairview Elementary

Prospect Elementary

Rea View Elementary

Rock Rest Elementary

Rocky River Elementary

Sandy Ridge Elementary

Union Elementary

Walter Bickett Elementary

Wingate Elementary


Middle Schools

East Union Middle 

Health Sciences Academy at Monroe Middle

Parkwood Middle

Sun Valley Middle


High Schools

Forest Hills High

Monroe High 

Parkwood High

Piedmont High