School Counseling

  • Schedule Corrections:  Deadline - Tuesday, January 28, 2020

    Students can ONLY request a schedule “correction” if:

    * senior is missing a required class for graduation

    * student has not met or is missing a pre-requisite for a course for which they are enrolled

    * student is taking a course that he/she has passed

    * student is missing a required core course (English, Math, Science, Social Studies) in their schedule

    * level change in core class (ie. Honors to CP - only if new level is not at class size max)

    -Students must use their student email account to access the form. This will allow us to confirm the student identity.  IF a Student has a “Please See Counselor” as one of their classes THIS semester they should report to the Guidance Counseling Office during the period it is scheduled only. They must continue to follow their schedule until a change is made. No change request will be accepted after Tuesday, January 28, 2020 at 3pm.

    Schedule Correction Linkhttps://forms.gle/uvVQ4VvBe863TfzN8 (Must be logged into UCPS Google account to access.)

     
    Our Philosophy

    We believe that all students have the potential to become productive members of society. We also believe that it is our job (our obligation) as educators to help students realize their skills and develop these skills. Students should be given every opportunity to discover and enhance their talents. When students enjoy what they are doing (learning) then they will learn more effectively. Education is the most valuable and most influential gift that we can offer the students of our community and we look forward to assisting in this process accordingly!

    Our Mission

    • To be positive role models for students, teaching them vicariously as well as directly.
    • To provide and maintain a safe, structured environment for students to feel safe and to learn.
    • To not simply graduate all of our students, but to provide them with a viable plan for the future.
    • To instill a love of learning in our students so that they will become lifelong learners.
    • To develop Rigor, Relevance, and Relationships with our students and to make learning personal

    Our Focus

    • Personal development
    • Academic development
    • Career development

    Services provided through School Counseling Department

    • Individual counseling
    • Group counseling
    • College and career exploration
    • Consultation with teachers, parents, and administrators
    • Crisis intervention

    Counseling Staff

     
    Tondra White tondra.white@ucps.k12.nc.us Students with Last Names A-Cou

    Carly Patterson carly.patterson@ucps.k12.nc.us

    Students with Last Names Cov-Hek
    Bryan James bryan.james@ucps.k12.nc.us Students with Last Names Hel-Mc
    Michaela Boeche michaela.boeche@ucps.k12.nc.us Students with Last Names Me-Sg
    Shari Davison shari.davison@ucps.k12.nc.us Students with Last Names Sh-Z
    Sarah Webb sarah.webb@ucps.k12.nc.us
    Career Development Coordinator
    Alex Lago alex.lago@ucps.k12.nc.us
    ESL Counselor
    Katia Martinez katia.martinez@ucps.k12.nc.us
    Secretary 
    Carolyn Lawwill carolyn.lawwill@ucps.k12.nc.us
    Data Manager

     Senior College Night Presentation Sept 2019

     

  • Confidentiality Statement

    School counselors recognize their primary obligation for confidentiality is to the student but balance that obligation with an understanding of the family or guardians’ legal and inherent rights to be the guiding voice in their children’s lives (ASCA Code of Ethics).
    The role of the school counselor in regards to confidentiality is:

    • To support the students right to privacy and protect confidential information received from students, the family, guardian and staff members
    • To explain the meaning and limits of confidentiality to students in developmentally appropriate terms
    • To provide appropriate disclosure and informed consent regarding the counseling relationship and confidentiality
    • To inform students and the family of the limits to confidentiality when: Student poses a danger to self or others, Court ordered disclosure, Consultation with other professionals in support of the student i.e. colleagues, supervisors, treatment teams, and other support personnel
    • To keep personal notes separate from educational records and not disclose their contents except when privacy exceptions exist
    • To seek guidance from supervisors and appropriate legal advice when their records are subpoenaed
    • To assert their belief that information shared by students is “confidential” and should not be revealed without the student’s consent
    • To adhere to all laws protecting student records, health information, and special services (i.e., HIPAA, FERPA, IDEA)