Areas of Eligibility for Special Education Services

  • The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction, along with the State Board of Education, provides public school units with information regarding policies to maintain compliance with the Individuals with Disabilities Act (IDEA). This includes the fourteen areas recognized by North Carolina for eligibility for EC services.  Students who receive EC services have a disability recognized within one or more of these fourteen areas of eligibility.

Areas of Eligibility

  • Autism Spectrum Disorder (AU)

  • Deaf-Blindness

  • Deafness

  • Developmental Delayed (DD)

  • Emotional Disability (ED)

  • Hearing Impairment

  • Intellectual Disability (ID)

  • Multiple Disability (MU)

  • Orthopedic Impairment

  • Other Health Impaired (OHI)

  • Specific Learning Disability (SLD)

  • Speech or Language Impairment

  • Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)

  • Visual Impairment